News from an Ex-Insruance Agent

September 15, 2012

I counted them up, and it’s been seven months since my last post.  Oops.  Let me try to explain my electronic/literary absence.  At first I didn’t write because I was a miserable insurance agent, and no one wants to read the blog of a miserable insurance agent.  Then, I didn’t write because I had news! But I had already shared that news so many times that I didn’t feel like writing it down.  And then I didn’t write because I wasn’t in the habit of writing.  But today is Saturday, and the morning is quiet, and I’m in a different place than I was seven months ago, and it seems like a good time to write.

So let me provide seven months of re-cap in a few bullets:

  • In spite of the results I got from my blog-readers poll, I decided to apply for teaching jobs in March.  Although what I said out-loud was that I was “keeping my options open,” I had pretty much made up my mind to head back into the world of education.
  • Over the course of a couple of weeks, I received a phone call in response to an application, had an informal interview, a school visit, a formal interview, and conducted a sample teach. 
  • And then I had a job offer.

At the same time:

  • I had been put on a “growth plan” at USBB (this is true).
  • I had been “talked to” about taking 21 minutes on my breaks instead of 20 and about my phone being in “AUX 5” (translation: “bathroom time”) more than average (this is also true).
  • I had calculated how long I could live off of my savings account.
  • And finally it was time.  I tried to put in two weeks notice; my boss countered with two days, and we called it a deal. 

For the last month and a half, I’ve been working in a school again.  And it’s a beautiful, wonderful place to be.  I’m back in my professional element, which is good for my soul and my ego (I’m pretty sure I’m safe from growth plans in this field).  I can afford to buy new shoes and take trips and go to yoga.  Everyday I get to laugh with kids, create opportunities for them to learn, and have important, difficult, complicated conversations with adults about how best to improve their school experience, enhance their learning, and empower their futures.  I haven’t missed talking about the difference between comprehensive and collision auto coverage even once.  It’s good to be home.

 

3 Responses to “News from an Ex-Insruance Agent”

  1. bonnie brawner said

    Welcome home! It’s good to have you back, and I mean that in so many ways!

  2. Shaina said

    Beautiful! And I missed your blog very much 🙂

  3. Granddaddy said

    Joseph Campbell wa right all along — “Follow your bliss”
    I love you.

Leave a Reply

